Super Eagles of Nigeria 2023 Afcon Squad Revealed

Starlyon King
By Starlyon King
3 Min Read
Super Eagles of Nigeria 2023 Squad Revealed

Nigeria’s national football team, the Super Eagles, led by coach Jose Peseiro, has unveiled the final 25-man squad set to compete in the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) in Cote d’Ivoire.

The Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) event is scheduled to take place from January 13 to February 11, 2024.

The Nigerian team, aiming for their fourth AFCON title, is placed in Group A alongside hosts Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea Bissau. The Portuguese manager, facing an uncertain future, initially unveiled a 40-man provisional squad in early December, which included three goalkeepers from the local league. This provisional squad was then trimmed down to 25 on Friday, in accordance with CAF regulations allowing a maximum of 27 players per team.

Notably, Stanley Nwabili, a goalkeeper from South African club Chippa United, was among the new faces included in the final squad.

READ ALSO: Nathan Tella: Why He Chooses to Play for Nigeria’s Super Eagles

Chippa United’s Nwabili has been listed to tackle the team’s goalkeeping issues, joining established first-choice Francis Uzoho and Enyimba FC’s goalkeeper Leke Ojo. Noteworthy is Ojo, the lone home-based player in the squad.

Super Eagles of Nigeria 25-man Squad for Afcon 2023


  • Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa)
  • Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus)
  • Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC)


  • Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England)
  • Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal)
  • Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey)
  • William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece)
  • Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)
  • Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey)
  • Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)
  • Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England)
  • Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)


  • Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)
  • Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium)
  • Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England)
  • Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)
  • Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England)


  • Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey)
  • Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy)
  • Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)
  • Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain)
  • Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)
  • Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy)
  • Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy)
  • Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany).
Share This Article
Kingsley Neji, popularly known as Starlyon King, CEO of SportPremi and UnicrossBlog, is a Blogger, Online Promoter, SEO Expert, Digital Marketer, and Business Marketing Strategist.
Leave a comment