Super Eagles Squad Unveiled for Sao Tome Clash: New Faces Join, Osimhen and Chukwueze Maintain; Musa Absent

Starlyon King
By Starlyon King
4 Min Read
Super Eagles Squad Unveiled for Sao Tome Clash: New Faces Join, Osimhen and Chukwueze Maintain; Musa Absent

The anticipation is mounting as the Super Eagles of Nigeria prepare to face Sao Tome and Principe in a high-stakes 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

What’s the update on Jose Peseiro?

The head coach of the Nigeria Men’s national team, Mr. Jose Santos Peseiro, will continue to steer the ship as the head coach of the Super Eagles, as the NFF has expressed its confidence in his abilities.

New faces in the squad

Gent’s shining talents, Gift Orban and Jordan Torunarigha, along with Bayer Leverkusen’s goal-scoring machine, Victor Boniface, have earned their coveted spots in the Super Eagles squad for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier against Sao Tome and Principe next week.

When will Nigeria take on Sao Tome and Principe?

The Super Eagles of Nigeria will face São Tomé and Principe on Sunday, September 10th, at 5:00 PM in the renowned Godswill Akpabio International Stadium.

The Super Eagles, a three-time African champion, have their sights set on concluding the AFCON qualifiers with a resounding victory as they prepare to host Sao Tome and Principe in Uyo. With a strong tally of 12 points from five games, they have already secured their place in the upcoming tournament in Ivory Coast. However, any drop against Sao Tome could put their position as the group toppers in jeopardy, especially with Guinea Bissau closely trailing and set to face Sierra Leone in their final match. Given these circumstances, Coach Jose Peseiro, who recently extended his contract with the NFF, may consider experimental tactics during the match.

Super Eagles Squad for Sao Tome and Principe 2023 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifier:

– Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus)
– Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC, Nigeria)
– Adebayo Adeleye (Hapoel Jerusalem, Israel)

– Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England)
– Tyronne Ebuehi (Empoli FC, Italy)
– Jordan Torunarigha (KAA Gent, Belgium)
– William Ekong (PAOK FC, Greece)
– Semi Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England)
– Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England)
– Jamilu Collins (Cardiff FC, Wales)
– Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

– Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England)
– Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium)
– Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England)
– Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England)

– Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England)
– Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy)
– Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France)
– Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy)
– Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy)
– Taiwo Awoniyi (Nottingham Forest, England)
– Gift Orban (KAA Gent, Belgium)
– Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany)

Musa’s Absence

Notably missing from the squad list is Ahmed Musa, a veteran of Nigerian football. Ahmed Musa’s absence will surely raise questions among fans and pundits. While his exclusion might come as a surprise, it also opens the door for newer talents to prove their worth.

Share This Article
Kingsley Neji, popularly known as Starlyon King, CEO of SportPremi and UnicrossBlog, is a Blogger, Online Promoter, SEO Expert, Digital Marketer, and Business Marketing Strategist.
Leave a comment